Sunday Night HBO

It’s Sunday night, our favourite TV night!

Curb Your Enthusiasm, Bored to Death and Dexter. What could be better? Well…maybe a little company from our neighbours.

I typically like to make a big homemade Sunday feast, but today, we had a bite at our local pub for some stick to the ribs grub. Sometimes, you just have to give in to those deep cravings that don’t want to go away.

I also like to go through my fridge and cupboards to see how I can salvage some food that is reaching its death sentence. I found a bag of whole wheat pitas and decided it was time to make one of my classics – pita chips with hummus. I think I’ve made pita chips for my friends and family about a gazillion times, but I do like to play around with the flavours. Sometimes it’s pesto and parmesan, other times it’s cinnamon and sugar, or even hot sauce and celery salt. Tonight, it’s another classic: garlic and herbs.

Here’s all you need to make this simple snack:

– Pitas (I like to separate my pitas in two, by pulling them apart)
– A couple tbsp’s of melted butter mixed with one tbsp of Extra Virgin Olive Oil (a like the combination of the two together)
– Garlic Powder
– Dried Basil, Dried Oregano and Dried Thyme

Heat oven to 400 Degrees Fahrenheit

  • Brush each pita with the butter and oil mixture and sprinkle on a pinch of each herb
  • Bake for about 5-7 minutes, keeping a close eye on them because they do tend to brown quickly
  • Take out of the oven when golden and let them cool for a minute or so
  • Break into pieces

Now for the hummus.  Again, one of the most simple dips to make (and you can change-up the seasonings to make different flavours).

  • 1 can of chick peas, drained
  • 2 tbsp’s lime juice (lemon also works well)
  • 1 garlic clove chopped
  • 2 tbsp’s Tahini paste (sesame butter, which adds a nice nutty flavour)
  • 2 tbsp’s olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Combine everything into a food processor and mix until smooth
  • Garnish with a sprinkle of Paprika and Parsley

Et voila!  A quick, easy and healthy snack is born!

Pita Chips and Hummus

5 Responses to “Sunday Night HBO”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Oooh Ive, this is a blog I could get into! I love it!
    Hope you’re well!

  2. Tara Says:

    Hey Ive!
    I’m totally loving your blog!! So great. Looking forward to getting tons of great recipes from you! Great idea 🙂

  3. iveb Says:

    Thanks Tara!

  4. carly Says:

    Ive, love this!!!

Leave a Reply

