It was a dark and stormy night…

This past Thursday, it was raining, cold and gloomy. I think at about 3:00 p.m., I looked out the office window and could have sworn it was midnight. I guess that’s all part of the Mother Nature thing and winter being just around the corner (oh Canada!). I can’t really complain though, because it’s the end of November and I still haven’t had to put my snow boots on.

A big bowl of Chile simmering on the stove definitely helps to lift the cloudy spirit. Chile has got to be one of the easiest meals to make and is the definition of comfort in a bowl. You can pretty much add just about anything you like to it and it will be delicious.

Here’s what you need to make my version “du jour”:

  • 1 package of Ground Beef, browned and drained (Chicken, Turkey or Texturized Vegetable Protein works just as well!)
  • ½ an Onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves Garlic, chopped
  • 2 Bell Peppers, chopped (colours of your choice)
  • 1 Jalapeño, chopped (optional)
  • 1 can Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 can Mixed Beans
  • 1 cup Corn (frozen or canned)
  • ½ litre of Chicken Broth
  • 5 tbsp Chile Powder
  • 2 tbsp Cumin
  • 2 tsp Chile Flakes (if you like a lot of heat, add more)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

I like to start by heating the oil (in a big pot) and sweating the garlic and onion on medium high heat to get the flavours going. After a few minutes, add the browned ground beef.

  • Add Chile Powder, Cumin, Salt and Pepper. Mix well.
  • Add the remaining ingredients and simmer for as long as you like (I left this simmering on the stove on low covered for about 2 hours, while I was at yoga. Adam had the job of stirring it from time to time.

Cheesy garlic bread makes for the perfect partner in crime. Just slice a baguette, spread on some butter and sprinkle with fresh chopped garlic (or powdered garlic). Top with shredded cheese (I had Mozzarella on hand) and a pinch of Italian Seasoning. Bake in a 400 degree oven on a cookie tray for about 5-10 minutes, until golden.

Garnish with Sour Cream and Chopped Green Onion.

4 Responses to “It was a dark and stormy night…”

  1. daniel sylvester Says:

    Ive!

    this looks so good! destoys the cafeteria food im eating everyday. i wish that plate was in my room right now and i was eating it

  2. iveb Says:

    Thanks Daniel! Wish I could ship you a bowl of our leftovers…

    Hope that school is going well. Countdown to the holidays is on. See you soon!

  3. huktastic Says:

    Ivehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    I read all your posts. Each picture of your latest creation makes my mouth water!

    I’m gonna pass on your blog to the future mrs. huk so she learns the quickest way to my heart! I’m sure your man appreciates the goodness you cook up each day!

    Well done. Absolutely well done.

Leave a Reply

