Mmmeatloaf

Meatloaf is one of those meals that often gets a bad rap. I myself have been guilty of spreading the bad rumor (although, in my defense, I was probably 5 years old and just being picky)!

Even now when I think about meatloaf, I usually think about the 80s, bad TV dinners or “I’ll do anything for love” lyrics. My parents always made a good meatloaf and never fed us TV dinners, so I really don’t know where these visuals came from.

Anyways, I have managed to convert Adam to “the meatloaf fan” side and it’s now a meal that we both enjoy. 

Here’s how I make mine:

  • 1 package extra lean ground beef (you want the leanest cut possible, as the fat doesn’t get drained)
  • 1 package Onion Soup Mix (great tip from my mom!)
  • 1 ¼ cups breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp of your favourite bbq sauce
  • 10 drops of Worcestershire Sauce
  • ¼ water for moisture
  • Pepper to taste (no salt needed, the onion soup mix has plenty!)

Topping:

  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 2 tbsp HP Sauce

Mix all the ingredients together well (except for the topping ingredients) with your hands. Place in a loaf pan (I used two mini loaf pans…muffin tins also work well for cute little versions).

Mix the topping ingredients and coat the meatloaf generously.

Heat oven to 375 degrees and cook for 45-60 mins. I served mine with a fresh garden salad and homemade croutons (separate post to follow soon). Stay tuned!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

