Opa!

It may be minus 20 degrees out there today, but it was a summer inspired dinner chez moi tonight!

You see…winter and I don’t always see eye to eye.  Today, I got really angry at the cold winds, salt stained roads and bitter air. Yes, I am Canadian, and yes we have had a pretty “mild” winter (so far), but I’d be lying if I said I don’t complain about it. I do.

How long until summer again?

My day started off with my mom dropping off my kitty cat (she’s been vacationing at my dad’s for the past month) and also brought us a bag of fresh chicken. I packed and froze most of it, but did set some aside for dinner. I decided to whip up a quick and easy Greek inspired marinade so that I could grill up some souvlaki later on. Living in a condo, I don’t really have a grill, or a bbq, but improvised a summer fresh meal quite easily. This brought us a little bit of sunshine on this beautiful winter day (I write this with a bit of sarcasm).

Chicken Souvlaki

  • 2 chicken breasts, cubed
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 tbsp plain yogurt (sour cream also works well)
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp dried oregano
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Mix all the marinade ingredients together and coat cubed chicken. Refrigerate for a minimum of 2 hours. The longer the better.

Soak wooden skewers in hot water for 20 minutes and then skewer the marinated chicken. Heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a frying pan, heat a bit of olive oil on high. When hot, add chicken skewers and turn to brown all sides. Finish cooking in the oven (about 10 minutes). Be careful not to overcook. Dry chicken is the worst!

I also marinated some chopped bell peppers and onion in our favourite salad dressing, mixed with a bit of bbq sauce for sweetness. I skewered and cooked these in the oven with the chicken and finished them off by putting them under the broiler for a few minutes to get some extra colour.

I cooked my rice in chicken broth, instead of water and added about a tbsp of lemon juice for extra freshness.

Opa!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

